Motion Graphics (Ident Animation)

For my portfolio and showreel I needed to create an animation involving my logo (less than 20 seconds) that could be used for the previously mentioned areas.

Oh boy… this was a real headache…

First off, I will show my storyboards for the animation:

Storyboard-Motion-graphics1

Storyboard-Motion-graphics2

Storyboard-Motion-graphics3

Pretty impressive ideas, huh? Well most of the ideas I have never come to fruition because I haven’t the skills and I was losing patience with the software I was using. At first I wanted to use Maya to get a stylish 3D appearance using the MASH nodes but it was a struggle to incorporate; the nodes I wanted to use did not work in the way I wanted to. This caused me no end of stress and anxiety until, as the deadlines for our work were catching up on me fast, I gave up on Maya. I moved to Adobe AfterEffects since I was already fairly skilled in that bit of software thanks to my South Park style animation from last year. This was the best option for me as I completed my animation in full on one of my study days – just in time for my class to move on and work on our showreels. I feel like my ident is not as interesting as my classmates’ (who managed to handle Maya and make it work well for them) but I feel accomplished with what I have made.

Thank you for reading!

Leave a comment